Advantage of Foresight: Alison

Regarding this prompt, check out this link for awesomeness.

 

I didn’t expect this.

She lay there, unconscious in the consequences of her aneurysm. A weak area of a vein leading to the heart. The doctor had sat me down and told me all the technicalities. Basically, her vein produced a hole and there was internal bleeding. He said he could put a tube in the vein to let the blood pass into the heart, but it was highly risky.

“It’s not your fault.” The doctor said. “You couldn’t have prevented it even if you could time travel.”

“But I can time travel.” I whispered as he walked away. I could only go forward to see the future, though, and I could see what I wanted. I never wanted to know what would happen to her, what would end her.

I gazed through the window again, my eyes settling on the unsettling view of my aunt. She had raised me as one of her own, treated me the same as her other six children.

“Not so fast,” a voice said. “I’m not letting you leave.”

“I just need to know if she’ll make it, Asher.” I said. “I really do.”

“What time is it?” He asked knowingly.

I closed my eyes. I could already feel my watch clicking against my wrist. It didn’t count how much time had passed; it counted how much time I had left. I knew I was destined to die in a car accident, and every time I time traveled to the future, it took a day out of my life. It brought the car accident a day closer.

“1 Day, sixteen minutes,” I said softly. “The surgery is in one day, twelve hours.”

“Do you know what’ll happen to you once you die? You’re not human. Heaven or hell or limbo isn’t for you.” My best friend pointed out.

Oh, that voice of reason. How it killed me.

“I don’t know.” I admitted. “But neither do you. Reincarnation? Simultaneous existence? Maybe I’ll run into future me who came from a parallel universe to visit me? I don’t know, Asher. You know what I do know? I can find out if Aunt Alison makes it.”

“This is your last day on Earth, Ally. You want to lose it in sixteen minutes?” Asher asked.

“There’s a chance we’ll both die tomorrow. I want to know.” I said.

He sighed. “Don’t say I didn’t try to stand in your way. Save me a seat near Amy Winehouse.” He said as he wrapped his arms around me.

“Do you think you’re going to hell?”

“We’re both going to hell, Ally.” He chuckled over my shoulder.

I felt coldness sear through my own veins as I disappeared into nothingness. When I returned to visibility, I was sitting outside the hospital room in the same seat.

“Ally, did you hear me?” The doctor said. “Your aunt is ready.”

I dazily stood up and hastened a smile before entering the room. Aunt Alison grinned at me before saying, “Hey, sweetie.”

“Hey, Aunt Alison. How are you feeling?” I asked.

“Tired. You don’t realize what life can do to you.” Aunt Alison said. “Ally?”

“Yes ma’am?”

“Asher came by. He said to meet him at the park. He’s such a nice boy.”

“Yes, yes, he is.” I said quietly. At that, my watch began to hum. “I… I have to go.”

“Wait. Give me a hug. Did I raise you in a barn?”

I laughed before holding her tightly. “Goodbye, Aunt Alison.” I said, forcing myself to keep my voice level.

I left hurriedly, the watch vibrating strongly around my forearm.

Before I shut the door behind me, I thought I heard her whisper, “Goodbye, Alison.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment